#### 2023 Honors Convocation

# Barry University President Mike Allen, PhD and John D. Murray, PhD, Provost cordially invite the Barry community to the 2023 Honors Convocation Ceremony Date: Friday, April 28, 2023 Time: 5:30 p.m. Location: Cor Jesu Chapel, Barry University

Presider	Javier Gonzalez, PhD
	Chair, Honor Society Committee
Processional	Beverley Coulter, DMA
University Marshall	James Haralambides, PhD
	Chair, Faculty Senate
Vice President for Mission and Student Engagement	Scott Smith, PhD
Invocation	Fr. Cristóbal Torres Iglesias, OP, PhD
	University Chaplain
Welcome	John D. Murray, PhD
	Provost, Barry University
Invited Speaker	Mateo Gomez, MBA
	Alumni, Barry University
Alpha Chi	
Delta Epsilon Sigma	
Phi Eta Sigma	
Kappa Gamma Pi	
Pi Sigma Alpha	
Phi Alpha Theta	
Alpha Mu Gamma	
Interlude:	Edward Valladares
Arabesque No. 1, Claude Debussy	Major: Music
Nocturne B-flat Minor, Opus 9 No. 1, Frederic Chopin	Minor: Education
St. Catherine Medal	José-David Padilla, OP, SThD
Concluding Remarks	Javier Gonzalez, PhD
	Chair, Honor Society Committee
	chail, Honor Society committee
Alma Mater	Beverley Coulter, DMA
	Fine Arts Department, Barry University
Recessional	Beverley Coulter, DMA
	Fine Arts Department, Barry University

# **Honor Societies**

Г

Alpha Chi	Deborah Chanan, EdS, MSW,
	Moderator

Lisette Barillas	Celeste Harrington	Nicole Lentz
Christina Diaz	Anna Horowitz	Oshane Lewis
Amanda Gonzalez Garcia	Jennie Iudice	Natalie Rowe

Delta Epsilon Sigma	Beatriz Calvo-Peña, PhD
	Moderator

Autumn L. Davis	Olivia Adderly	Christina Diaz
Ajda Bukovec,	Nicole Lentz	Patricia Denson
Nohemy Tovar	Erika Pierre	Jaylan Roscoe
Celeste Harrington	Imani McClammy	Damon Watts

Phi Eta Sigma	Leah Blumenfeld, PhD
	Moderator

Zander Mg Alfred	Anastacia Occela Hedditch	Cassandra Morisset
Gila Avshalumova	Xyan Henry	Sofia Abril Perez
Rachel Avshalumova	Kayley Hope Hynes	Danielle Polycar
Dominique Kaye Campbell	Sainah Laury Lafortune	K'ann A. Robinson
Viviana Ainoha Corbisiero	Lindsay Christianna Laquerre	Frederika Renay Saint Louis
Robert Adrian Correa	Lia Larramendi Mirabal	Tiani Maxan Sankey
Raquel Firsher	Alyssa Leal	Jeffernique Daphne Victor
Andrea Dayan Flores	Natalie Marie Lopresti	Lamar Lanard Watkins
Sabrina Guadalupe Gomez	Aftab Alam Masjidi	Brandon WIlliams
Pi Sigma Alpha		Leah Blumenfeld, PhD on behalf
		of Sean Foreman, Phd, Moderator
Melanie Cabo	Imani McClammy	Britney Richards
Sophia Gonzalez		
Phi Alpha Theta		Leah Blumenfeld, PhD on behalf
		of Sarah Riva, Phd, <i>Moderator</i>
Paulina Braxton	Selena Joseph	Benny Rubinsztejn
Ashley Dever		
Alpha Mu Gamma	Mia Tubbs	Beatriz Calvo-Peña, PhD
		Moderator

Kappa Gamma Pi	José-David Padilla, OP, SThD
	Moderator

Alexander Orozco	Patricia Denson	
Amanda Gonzalez	Taymaa Nofal	
Christina Diaz	Celeste Harrington	
Damon Watts		

St. Catherine Medal	José-David Padilla, OP, SThD
	Moderator

Award Recipient: Amanda Gonzalez Garcia Major: Senior - Criminology and Biomedical and Forensic Photography Award Recipient: Alexander Orozco

Major: Senior – English with a Specialization in Professional Writing and Spanish with a Specialization in Translation and Interpretation

# ALMA MATER "All Hail To Barry"

All Hail to Barry, hail to Barry Alma mater proud and true Always caring, ever sharing Our heart longs to be with you Time could never dim the flame Of memories that will remain We will always remember Barry And smile when we hear your name.

Alma Mater and Recessional (Beverly Coulter, DMA, Fine Arts, Barry University)

Note: Please remain in your seats until after the recessional.

# 2023 HONOR SOCIETY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Leah Blumenfeld, PhD	Moderator, Phi Eta Sigma College of Arts and Sciences
Lawrence Byrne, PhD	College of Arts and Sciences Member
Beatriz Calvo-Peña, PhD	Moderator, Delta Epsilon Sigma College of Arts and Sciences
Deborah Chanan, Ed.S, MSW	Moderator, Alpha Chi Ellen Whiteside McDonnell School of Social Work
Javier Gonzalez, PhD	Chair, Honors Committee Adrian Dominican School of Ed., Leadership, & Human Development
José-David Padilla, OP, SThD	Moderator, Kappa Gamma Pi St. Catherine Medal College of Arts and Sciences
Suzanne Pottratz, PhD	College of Health and Wellness Member
Pawena Sirimangkala, PhD	Member at Large College of Arts and Sciences