

# 2025 Barry University Honors Convocation Program

Barry University President Mike Allen, PhD, and Pablo Ortiz, EdD, Provost, cordially invite the Barry University community to the 2025 Honors Convocation Ceremony



Date: May 8, 2025 Time: 3:00pm - 4:00pm Location: Cor Jesu Chapel, Barry University

## Order of Service

Processional	Led by Lauren Shure, PhD
	University Marshall & Chair, Faculty Senate
Presider	Javier Gonzalez, PhD
	Chair, Honor Society Committee
Invocation	Fr. Humphrey Ikueze
	University Chaplain
Welcome Remarks	Pablo Ortiz, Ed.D
	Provost, Barry University
Deans Awards	
College of Arts and Sciences	Karen Callaghan, PhD
	Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
School of Business	Bogdan Daraban, PhD
	Dean, School of Business
School of Nursing	Tony Umadhay, PhD, CRNA, APRN, FAANA
-	Dean, School of Nursing
College of Health and Wellness	Eneida Roldan, MD, MPH, MBA
-	Dean, College of Health and Wellness
Sigma Tau Delta Writing Awards	Celeste Landeros, PhD
	Professor of English and Humanities
Honors Program Recognition	Sarah Riva, PhD
	Assistant Professor of History & Honors Program Director
Honors Society Inductees	
Alpha Chi	Ben Hitchinson, PhD
	Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Delta Epsilon Sigma	Beatriz Calvo-Peña, PhD
	Associate Professor of Spanish
Phi Eta Sigma	Leah Blumenfeld, PhD
	Associate Professor of U.S. Government
Kappa Gamma Pi	Fr. Jose David Padilla, OP, SThD
	Associate Professor of Theology
St. Catherine Medal	Fr. José-David Padilla, OP, SThD
	Associate Professor of Theology
	Presented to the Award Recipient by Mike Allen, PhD
	President, Barry University
Recessional	Hamilton Gutierrez
Alma Mater	Candidate for B.A. in Music, Class of 2026

#### 2024-2025 Deans Awards

College of Arts and Scienc	AC 0	Karen Callaghan, PhD Dean, College of Arts and Sciences	
Mathematics and Computer Science	Yalena Anderson	Major: Biology Advisor: Leticia Vega, PhD	
Mathematics and Computer Science	Snowbird Rubio	Major: Computer Science with Specialization in Digital Media Advisor: James Haralambides, PhD	
Social/Behavioral Science	Katherine Hernandez	Major: Psychology, Minor: Literature Advisor: Justin Lauro, PhD	
Social/Behavioral Science	Kelli Thomas	Major: Political Science Advisor: Leah Blumenfeld, PhD	

School of Business	Bogdan Daraban, PhD Dean, School of Business
Zhasmina Kerimova	Major: Finance Advisor: Jessica Fleitas, MBA, PMP

School of Nursing	Tony Umadhay, PhD, CRNA, APRN, FAANA Dean, School of Nursing
	Major: Nursing
Veronica Ferron-Scott	Advisor: Sarah Koplow, Ph.D., APRN,
	AGPCNP-BC

College of Health and Wellness	Eneida Roldan, MD, MPH, MBA Dean, College of Health and Wellness
Madison Wolfe	Major: Social Work Advisor: Michael Alicea, EdD, MSW

### 2024-2025 Sigma Delta Tau Writing Awards

Sigma Delta Tau Writing A	wards	Celeste Landeros, PhD Professor of English and Humanities	
Fiction	First Place: Shania Howard	Honorable Mention: Victoria Paulo Corsina	
Personal Essay	First Place: Trevea Hanna	Honorable Mention: Lojan Shaker	
Academic Essay	First Place: Alexia Vorbe	Honorable Mention: Adaeze Butters	
Poetry	First Place: Josiah Manners	Honorable Mention: Devin Rodriguez	
Helen Connell Film Essay	Winner: Joshua Sherman		

## 2024-2025 Honors Program Recognition

Honors Program Recognition	Sarah Riva, PhD Assistant Professor of History & Honors Program Director
Domenico Denaro	Sophia Jauquet
Brendalis Puig	Virginia Rivas
Grace Steffan	Peekay Stoffle

### 2024-2025 Honors Society Inductees

Alpha Chi	Ben Hitchinson, PhD Moderator
Chiara Brambilla	Jeanella Brown
Isadora Iglesias	Diana Suprun

Delta Epsilon Sigma	Beatriz Calvo-Peña, PhD Moderator
Matthew Cole	Xyan Henry
Cassandra Morisset	

Phi Eta Sigma	Leah Blumenfeld, PhD Moderator
David Leon Bradwell	Jayden Bayard
Darwinsky Charles	Matthew Cole
Amenda Demera	Taylor Hanna
Davon Howard	Bryson Kissling
Isabella Koelkebeck	Nora Mahoney
Josiah Richard Manners	Alexandria Mohammed
Alanna Nelson-Weir	Samya Rosario
Kate Rutledge	Jude Dimaggio Taylor
Keidy Valdes	

Kappa Gamma Pi	Fr. Jose David Padilla, OP, SThD Moderator
Yalena Anderson	Jeanella Brown
Natasha Peacock	Cristina Perez
Lauren Toussaint	Lola Vaquera

#### 2024-2025 St. Catherine Medal

St. Catherine Medal	José-David Padilla, OP, SThD Moderator	
Award Recipient: Daniela Mendez Major: Nursing		

Michael Alicea, EdD, MSW	Assistant Professor of Social Work College of Health and Wellness
Leah Blumenfeld, PhD	Moderator, Phi Eta Sigma Associate Professor of Political Science College of Arts and Sciences
Lawrence Byrne, PhD	Associate Professor of English College of Arts and Sciences
Beatriz Calvo-Peña, PhD	Moderator, Delta Epsilon Sigma Associate Professor of Spanish College of Arts and Sciences
Ben Hitchinson, PhD	Moderator, Alpha Chi Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences College of Health and Wellness
Javier Gonzalez, PhD	Chair, Honor Society Committee Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction Department of Education and Leadership College of Arts and Sciences
José-David Padilla, OP, SThD	Moderator, Kappa Gamma Pi Moderator, St. Catherine Medal Associate Professor of Theology College of Arts and Sciences
Sarah Riva, PhD	Honors Program Director Assistant Professor of History
Pawena Sirimangkala, PhD	Member at Large Associate Professor of Communication College of Arts and Sciences